TellLoveKillGallagherI’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You is the first book in the Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter, which follows a group of teenage girls at the Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women. These girls are some of the best and brightest from around the country (with one girl from England) and at the school they are being trained to become some of the best spies for their country. Some of the classes they take include chemical warfare and computer hacking.

The main character is Cammie Morgan, who is following in the footsteps of her parents by becoming a spy. Her mom is a retired spy who is now the principal of the school, her Dad died on one of his missions. Cammie is fluent in 14 different languages and is capable of killing someone in a variety of ways however when she meets a boy in the local town she realises that there are some parts of life that she may not be able to excel in.

This was a fun book to read. It’s a strong female lead cast of characters who all have their own strengths and weaknesses. As well as dealing with the complications of teenage love the book also deals with the complications of friendships. It also shows that even the most intelligent and capable of people need help from time to time in order to succeed. Overall it’s a fun read with an interesting storyline which lays the groundwork for the rest of the series.

Overall rating: 3.5/5

-Michelle O’Brien
Junior Girl
Girl Museum Inc.

Pin It on Pinterest